Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame


Larry Spoon
Distinguished Service Award




The "Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Award" is named after one of the founding fathers of the Evergreen Auto Racing Association and an inaugural inductee of the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame. Originally created after the untimely death of Larry, the Evergreen Auto Racing Association presented the award from 1983 thru 1991, honoring individuals of outstanding service to Grays Harbor Raceway who exhibited the qualities of dedication, sportsmanship, and unselfishness exemplified by Spoon. Upon the disbanding of the EARA the award faded into obscurity, but beginning in 2010 the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame will reincarnate the "Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Award" by proudly recognizing and honoring pioneering Grays Harbor Raceway individuals, businesses, and organizations who exhibited the qualities shown by Larry Spoon in his twenty-five plus year involvement in auto racing. Award winners will have their name engraved on the "Larry Spoon Distinguished Service Plaque" that will become a permanent part of EARHoF exhibits.


Original EARA
"Larry Spoon Distinguished Service" Recipients

                                   1983 - Ray Seaman
                                   1984 - Ron Kunkle
                                   1985 - John Goodwin
                                   1986 - Stormy Glick
                                   1987 - Bud Brogan
                                   1988 - Teresa Carlson
                                   1989 - Bruce & Linda Clevenger
                                   1990 - Satsop Fire Department
                                   1991 - Lecia Criswell

"Larry Spoon Distinguished Service" Recipients

                                   2010 - EARA Ladies Auxiliary
                                   2011 - Pioneer Florists
                                   2012 - Daryl Palmer
                                   2013 - Del Fry
                                   2014 - Herman Burns
                                   2015 - Earle Sargent
                                   2016 - Bruce Clevenger
                                   2017 - Bruce & Corinne Williams
                                   2018 - Jim Oien
                                   2019 - Slim Erickson
                                   2020 - Cindy Badgett & Rick Leighty
                                   2023 - Steve Parker



Newest Members